History of the School
Grateley Primary School is a non-denominational County Primary School, maintained by Hampshire County Council.
It is a recently extended and well equipped, co-educational village school.
- The oldest part of our building is perhaps unique by being the only school in Hampshire built of chalk cob. The main classroom and two-roomed residential section were built in 1836. In 1873, Grateley became a board school and the main classroom was doubled in size to what it is today. A further, smaller extension and a corrugated-iron cloakroom were also added.
- In 1923, kitchens were built and later, as the numbers of pupils grew, temporary buildings were placed within the grounds. The oldest of these an ex-military, wooden shack was in use until 1993.
- In 1992, work began to replace the temporary wooden classroom by building a new classroom/hall, a servery and a staff room, as well as reorganising the reception and office areas. In 1993, the whole site was re-landscaped and new play equipment and study areas added. The result of all these changes was a bright, lively and modern school, which remained in keeping with a building of the Victorian age.
- In 2001 the temporary classroom and outside toilets were replaced with a new extension, providing a classroom and protected play area for Key stage 1 , a new library, computer suite and indoor toilets.
- In 2005 a new school hall was completed providing improved provision for PE as well as having our own school kitchen providing school lunches.
- The school also has a large playing field, which is used for outdoor games and activities of all types. In 2006 a new netball pitch and goal posts were added.
- In 2009 we had a new toilet block and store room built on the playing field.